Skip to content

Great Quote!

May 7, 2010

The pastor is called upon to feed the sheep. (Now that may seem quite obvious.) He is called upon to feed the sheep even if the sheep do not want to be fed. He is certainly not to become an entertainer of goats. Let goats entertain goats, and let them do it in Goatland. You will certainly not turn goats into sheep by pandering to their goatishness.

– William Still, The Work of the Pastor

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ryan McGivern permalink
    May 8, 2010 2:53 pm

    Love it! That’s a great quote. Love it or leave it baby. On the solid Rock I stand and I mean rock and roll! ‘There’s no other name’!
    I totally disagree. With those ‘infotainment’ pastors that are like: any itching ears around here I can tickle?
    That’s why when I go into the highways and byways to street preach (more tracts than preach, but I also let my eyes do the talking)
    I’m like: To you, I will not become like you to win you. I’m not gonna weaken myself or the Gospel to win the weak. I’m not gonna do anything for them goats for the sake of the Gospel because I know what’s what and that’s 764 pages of annotated and chapter summarized Bible baby!
    Bringin’ it for Jesus. I always tell my evangelees (in love), “there’s a difference between cocky and confident and I’ve got the confidence of salvation and the anointing of the Holy Ghost! So while it may seem like a small difference to you–it means the difference of heaven and hell to me!”
    Thanks for the post–I’m gonna check out William Still. I’ve been working on Chambers’ Utmost For His Highest for about 4 years now. Ryan McGivern

  2. May 8, 2010 9:19 pm

    I also like James White’s quote: “What you draw them with is what you draw them to.”

Leave a Reply

