Skip to content

David Hamilton: I am Pro-Choice for Those Who Rape Women…

May 13, 2010

I am now pro-choice.

After much thought and consideration, I have decided to become pro-choice; not on the issue of abortion, but on the issue of rape.

Some people would say this makes me pro-rape, but that is not the case. I would never rape a woman. However, if a man does want to rape he should have that right. Rape is a private and personal decision, and the government should not intrude on our private and personal decisions.

Because rape is illegal, many rapists are forced to perform their rapes in back-alleys. Wouldn’t it be better if we set up rape clinics where a man could pay for rape-on-demand? Rape is going to happen anyways, so we should do our best to make sure that it happens in a clean and safe environment. An environment where the rapist is free from harassment of anti-choicers who would force men to control their sexual urges. Rape sometimes results in pregnancy or sexually-transmitted-disease, which could be eliminated if these rape clinics require rapists to use protection.

Conservatives who would force their morality on everybody have had their way with the issue of rape long enough. It’s not the rapists who are the criminals, but those who rape our freedom. Against rape? Don’t do it.

His body, his choice.

This is satire against Pro-Abortion (Obviously)… Well done Dave. See his Post Here

38 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2010 3:44 pm

    I know the message you wanted to convey, and the lines of comparison you intended to draw out. The words are very strong, pungent actually. Hope your message doesn’t get lost in the wording. I am pro-choice.

  2. May 14, 2010 3:47 pm

    I can’t seem to find the edit button for my last comment. I am NOT pro-choice. I am pro-life. This is why I should always always proof before I hit that inferno “send” button.

  3. May 14, 2010 4:43 pm

    I AM PRO-CHOICE

  4. RAP permalink*
    May 14, 2010 8:20 pm

    nobusy: What do you mean “lost in the wording”?

    justdc: I kinda figured. Take a look at this: http://wickedshepherds.com/abortion_107.jpg

    How can you support such barbarism? These are little women and men who don’t get a choice at all.

  5. bigham permalink
    May 15, 2010 2:28 pm

    I had a second post where I spelled out what I was doing in this post…
    just in case my message got lost in the wording :)

    “I Am NOT Pro-Choice”http://bigham.wordpress.com/2010/03/17/i-am-not-pro-choice/

  6. bigham permalink
    May 15, 2010 2:29 pm

    I was hoping that would be a link. Let’s try again:“I Am NOT Pro-Choice”

  7. May 15, 2010 3:14 pm

    I don’t care how well intentioned you are, even mocking for one crime (rape) to be committed so that another crime is sick. What kind of Christian would do this, even in mocking?

  8. RAP permalink*
    May 15, 2010 7:36 pm

    It is not mocking… it is satire. It is an informal use of language to make a stern and profound point about the evils of abortion and demonstrate how sick it is. Rape is evil and sick… but the point has been made. It caused you to think and react. Rape is sick in your mind and abortion is not… therefore you would rather be angry about the message and the form of the message than the actual crime of abortion. You would rather attack the messenger than be just as furious over the babies being slaughtered.

    Christianity pushes back the darkness of worldliness.

    Jesus used harsh language at times to cause change… he called the Pharisees vipers, white washed tombs full of dead men’s bones, etc.

    Sometimes it is necessary to be shocking to make change and I think this message does a great job of that.

    My Advice: Be angry about the right thing – Barbaric Abortion!

    • May 15, 2010 8:25 pm

      First of all, you are wrong, I am not a blasphemer, and I am also anti-abortion. One crime does not justify another crime. This is the same logic those who bomb abortion clinics use. You may be attempting to use satire, or mocking, or a shock value here, however this is in bad taste.

      Let not your good be evil spoken of.

  9. May 15, 2010 7:43 pm

    Rape is sick in your mind and abortion is not.

    Cute how you know that. Can’t we think both things are evil?

    Listen dudes, the reason Swift’s “modest proposal” works is because eating children is really, really, really unthinkable and dealing with poverty is not.

    Rape is not as unthinkable as it should be. So as satire this fails. Pretty badly.

  10. RAP permalink*
    May 15, 2010 7:47 pm

    Camille…

    I wasn’t talking to you. I was talking to blasphemer.

    It is plain and obvious.

    Yes… we can think that both are evil…. as I do.

    The reason you and blasphemer think it is bad satire is because it makes sense… and points to your own wicked hearts!

    Repent and be saved by the One who can truly give you life and make you pro-life.

    RAP

  11. May 15, 2010 7:55 pm

    The reason you and blasphemer think it is bad satire is because it makes sense… and points to your own wicked hearts!

    Repent and be saved by the One who can truly give you life and make you pro-life.

    Cute, once again. In fact, it’s practically adorable!! I just love how you assume that (1) I’m not redeemed (I am), (2) that I’m not pro-life (having four children in Heaven is enough to cement anyone’s prolife adherence, (3) proof of salvation is liking this poorly conceived example of a pretty difficult-to-pull-off literary device, (3) Jesus has saved me to like this writing and your politics.

    Yes, it’s practically precious!!

  12. RAP permalink*
    May 15, 2010 7:56 pm

    The why are you so angry. Abortion is wrong and Rape is wrong. Be mad at that.

    RAP

  13. RAP permalink*
    May 15, 2010 7:57 pm

    Abortion is not politics!

  14. May 15, 2010 8:04 pm

    The why are you so angry. Abortion is wrong and Rape is wrong. Be mad at that.

    How do you do it, RAP? How do you read people’s minds like that? How do you know that I’m angry and at whom I am angry and that I’m not angry at what you deem proper?

    I’m not angry at you, btw. I’m just saying that your defense of this satire is unfounded. That’s not anger. That’s literary criticism.

  15. RAP permalink*
    May 15, 2010 8:18 pm

    I am not reading your mind. I have a hard time believing that you would be on this blog if it did not cause you a sense of frustration and anger and give your time to writing on it. If you saw it for what it was, you would be embracing it… you would see the evil of Rape and then say, “You know, the correlation is striking!”

    That is what I thought when I read it and it made sense.

    Proper and Formal is not what this was – hence, Satire! Satire is not proper nor formal. It makes a point in a profound way, sometimes an offensive way to cause people to think which it has done for you.

    If you are saved… awesome! We are brother and sister. I see God as gracious in His salvation… but I also see His wrath in His justice. And when Elijah mocked the false prophets of Baal, I see that we also should do the same to the false prophets of toleration and get-along-to-go-along! The way Slavery was stamped out was by satire, shocking events performed by William Wilberforce and the other abolitionists, etc.

    Christianity is to push back the darkness for the oppressed… and that includes the unborn. And if shocking satire that offends even the elect is used to do it, I would rather offend, frustrate, anger, etc. those who would stand in the way of mockers and not be that stable tree planted by the waters that give life.

    We should not wink at sin… or give a foothold to the enemy… toleration of this evil is doing both.

    RAP

    I have a hard time believing a Redeemed, Bible believer would not see the correlation and applaud this satire for its stance against abortion.

    Abortion is murder and rape is just as evil (Obviously)! Why are you trying to degrade it if you are not against it.

    This is very well done!

  16. May 15, 2010 8:22 pm

    The test of my salvation is not agreeing with you.

    Why am I here? Because a believing friend of mine — who has been raped multiple times — read this blog and was broken-hearted. I’m here for her. Too often so-called ministers of God’s Word have been flippant about the crimes done against her. And she saw that same flippancy here.

    That’s why I’m commenting. For her.

  17. RAP permalink*
    May 15, 2010 8:32 pm

    This was not meant for her. This was not meant to hurt her. This was not meant to be flippant. This was not meant to bring heart-ache to a victim of a horendous sinful crime. I am glad you want to defend her… Do you go to the movies that have rape scenes and do the same? Do you call out the abortion doctors? Or, do you go after the ministers?

    This was not meant to do what you are accusing the writer of this post for doing… the rape could have been any other sin and you are angry and frustrated because you have a sense of duty to defend someone about a blog post? Hmmm. Really?

    Evil and Demonic Forces are in this world. The ministers of the Gospel will not stop speaking about aortion and its evil simply because there might be someone in the congregation who had one.

    What ministers of the Gospel do, is preach the Word… the offensive parts and the Grace filled parts. There is forgiveness for the abortion doctor, there is forgiveness for the one who had abortion and there is forgiveness for the man who raped your friend… I pray we all receive it.

    I don’t agree with you that this was poor taste. Satire has been used for many centuries to be striking. And this is what it has done for you… not as an attack on your friend… but as an attack on the abortion culture of death. You are upset about the hurt heart of your friend. This is good. But, this was not aimed at your friend Camille. This was aimed at abortionists and pro-choicers… Emotional hurts from others are not a factor here. It is not about RAPE… it is about AbORTION…

  18. RAP permalink*
    May 15, 2010 8:35 pm

    Why the name spelled like that then? jesis… sounds like mocking to me.

  19. May 15, 2010 8:36 pm

    It’s poorly done infantile satire that fails to take into account that in too many conservative/fundamentalist circles rape IS looked at as, at least if not more, “50% “the woman’s fault”. You probably just finished a semester on Jonathan Swift and thought this was being clever.

  20. RAP permalink*
    May 15, 2010 8:40 pm

    Says who? No one in conservative/fundy circles look at rape that way? I am not a fundy by the way… they frustrate me! I am an evangelical reformed conservative… but I went to a fundy school at Liberty University and when the subjects of sin came up… it was always the person who committed the act, not the victim. If you have met Fundys and Conservatives who think this way, they are wrong! Period! The woman is not at fault for a man’s lack of sexual self-control or power hungry.

    It is the perpetrator’s fault! That is it.

  21. RAP permalink*
    May 15, 2010 8:40 pm

    Who is Jonathan Swift?

  22. RAP permalink*
    May 15, 2010 8:42 pm

    The test of salvation is works that demonstrate faith.

    Faith without works is dead… (James 2)

    Backing abortion satire is a good work!

  23. May 15, 2010 8:51 pm

    Well good for you, Liberty, hmm. I Graduated from a very conservative Christian University as well. Camille and her husband were professors at the same University I graduated from. Camille is a stay at home mom now and her husband is a professor at another conservative Christian college.

    Like we both have tried to say, we both are anti-abortion but to use rape in a satire attempt is in poor choice with perhaps the best intention.

  24. sister permalink
    May 16, 2010 12:24 am

    As a fellow friend of the two comment posters – and a fellow rape victim, I also am quite disturbed by your initial posting. I really feel that you could have picked another henious issue other than rape and gotten your point across more effectively.

    In many circles – and I have been involved in many now – rape is #1 looked upon as at least 50% of the woman’s fault. She should not have been there making herself vulnerable . . . she should not have been wearing . . . she should not have allowed it to happen . . . God let it happen for some purpose that we just don’t know right now . . .

    When a Christian choosed to use such a crime as an example of sattire – it is not a wise decision. Rape is such an issue that it was even put in the Bible followed by murder and even further family disruption.

    Really wish you had spoken to a woman first.

  25. Mamalu permalink
    May 16, 2010 1:31 am

    Reading this article does not come across as satire. The only thing that gives it away as satire is the “This is satire against Pro-Abortion (Obviously)” tag line. Believing that it is bad satire does not point to the “wickedness” of anyone’s heart nor does this satire make sense to women. Using rape as a correlation only brings up the hurt and humiliation for many women who have lived through the absolute horrors of rape.

    I must say that I am shocked that because some women have expressed their concern regarding this satire that they are immediately attacked as being, “not saved, right with Jesus, or wicked.”

    Abortion is murder plain and simple, why couldn’t this satire have correlated abortion and say a serial killer? I believe the point would come across better with the message that you want to really portray.

  26. RAP permalink*
    May 16, 2010 1:38 am

    Rape happens every day. That is the point. Serial killing does not. Murder – Abortion is murder so it would not have been as effective as rape. It is supposed to point out the ridiculous which you have caught on to. By the way… the owner of this blog did not write this… but supports it none-the-less.

    Those who are victims of murder – the families left behind… they feel traumatized too. I am not saying that I support murder or rape by using this. I am using this to point out the explicit inconsistencies in the abortion argument.

    You give facts – 50%. Back them up please.

    I will say that anyone who supports rape or abortion is wicked… and if saved, then very immature if they support rape or abortion. I wish you each were just as horrified by abortion as you are by this post. It demonstrates your heart. You would rather beat up the host than see the obvious.

    RAP

  27. RAP permalink*
    May 16, 2010 1:44 am

    Sometimes effective propositions that can begin a debate easily get entangled by the silly. I think it is quite silly that the argument is over the make-believe post that no one in this room would ever say they support the rape of a woman and the abortion issue it attacks. It is a strawman and ad hominem… so clear.

    The issue is abortion, not rape, nor the feelings of people who have been raped. You have made that the issue. This post does not make that claim. It makes the claim that rape is heineous and that anyone who supports it is exaclty like the individual who supports abortion. That is the point. You should be applauding. What you really hate… is the fact that it makes sense about abortion. And that is what causes you to say what you have said above.

    You hate the fact that abortion is barbaric and you need to defend it… so attack the rape issue in the post rather than seeing the obvious.

  28. Mamalu permalink
    May 16, 2010 2:00 am

    I had a very good friend who was murdered 22 years ago. And to this day her murderer has not been caught. I know the trauma of that. It is far easier to get past that than it is rape.

    Who’s to say that we are not just as outraged about abortion as we are this post? I routinely pray for an end to abortion, go to anti-abortion protests, and send empty red envelopes to the president and to my congregational representative to signify a loss of human life because of abortion.

    I don’t see that we are trying to beat up anyone, I believe that we are trying to show that using rape was in poor taste.

  29. RAP permalink*
    May 16, 2010 2:02 am

    I disagree… because abortion is just as bad or worse.

    I dare you to say what you said to the mother of a murdered child.

    You are using bad arguments for a good post.

    RAP

  30. RAP permalink*
    May 16, 2010 2:10 am

    There is no such thing as closure for any sin… rape, murder, adultery and so on… the feelings and emotions never leave. You feel betrayed, a sense of loss, etc.

    The post was not meant to conjure up such feelings in victims but demonstrate the seriousness of abortion. Rape is serious. No one would argue that and that is why I think David Hamilton used it… because it does conjure such strong emotions. Abortion should do the same.

    I will question salvation because that is what a Christian should do within the family of God. It is true love. If you were on the side of the road and were about to be run over by a car… it would be loving force to move you to safety.

    Those who have no problem with abortion and do have a problem with a satirical writing that makes abortion look evil… I question your priorities, I question your maturity in faith, I question whether or not you are truly in the fold.

    The Scriptures tell us to examine ourselves. That is what we all should do.

    Jesus used shocking parables to wake up the blind.

    The Prophets used signs and symbolic means to shake Israel and lead them to repentance.

    This story is along those lines. it is meant to awaken people to the horror of abortion…. not cause them to get bent out of shape about rape.

    RAP

  31. RAP permalink*
    May 16, 2010 2:15 am

    You are each entitled to your opinion. I think you are wrong. You think David Hamilton is wrong and you think I am wrong for using it. That is fine. I think I will leave it none-the-less.

    RAP

  32. RAP permalink*
    May 16, 2010 2:23 am

    One thing I will do… I will say I am sorry about making judgments about the heart. Only God can know where you are in the faith. I believe that was wrong of me and I was frustrated over the poor comments rather than sticking to the true issue. I am sorry.

    I will also say we are each to be fruit inspecters. We should do that wisely.

    RAP

  33. May 16, 2010 2:32 am

    I just posted David Hamilton’s Response to the issue at hand.

    RAP

  34. May 16, 2010 9:41 am

    David Hamilton recognizes rape was a “foolish” analogy. Hamilton updated his post to say that when people say they are “pro-choice” they should be confronted as to what “pro-choice means.

    http://bigham.wordpress.com/2010/03/17/i-am-not-pro-choice/

    On another issue,
    Romans 14:4 “Who art thou that judgest another man’s servant? to his own master he standeth or falleth. Yea, he shall be holden up: for God is able to make him stand.”

    Romans 14: 7-12 “For none of us liveth to himself, and no man dieth to himself.
    For whether we live, we live unto the Lord; and whether we die, we die unto the Lord: whether we live therefore, or die, we are the Lord’s.
    For to this end Christ both died, and rose, and revived, that he might be Lord both of the dead and living.
    But why dost thou judge thy brother? or why dost thou set at nought thy brother? for we shall all stand before the judgment seat of Christ.
    For it is written, As I live, saith the Lord, every knee shall bow to me, and every tongue shall confess to God.
    So then every one of us shall give account of himself to God.”

    You mentioned above that we are to be ‘fruit inspectors.” What are the fruits we are to look for? The Fruits of the Spirit. Rhe fruits of the Holy Spirit.

    Galations 5:22-23 “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith,
    Meekness, temperance: against such there is no law.”

    King James Version (KJV)

    Personally, I am rather annoyed at this point with you that you would act as the Holy Spirit and be arrogant enough to pretend to know the hearts of your brothers and sisters over posts over the internet solely because people disagree with you. It is before God we ALL stand or fall.

  35. May 17, 2010 4:12 am

    Do you commit to a judgment and do the same things? I dare say you have been doing what you accuse me of doing.

    We as Christians are to judge the heart… that is what Matthew 18 is all about. That is what accountability is about. That is what you believe you are doing here on this blog page… trying to keep me accountable. I say, you should follow your own advice.

    You pass judgment on me as well… saying I do this because you disagree with me. I don’t do it because you disagree with me… (that is a judgment on the motivations on the heart is it not)… I do it because you are frustrated and angry about the wrong thing…

    Babies are dying and you are arguing over a post sent in “bad taste” as you call it because it hurt someone’s feelings.

    I say… let it strike and penetrate to the hearts of those who would back abortion. I think it did what it was supposed to do. I back this post. You are not going to change my mind on the matter… and I am not going to change yours…

    So I am done.

    RAP

  36. May 17, 2010 4:23 am

    My last post was about you calling me a blasphemer and I disbeliever. Excuse me, but where did I call you those things? You have reason to think I or Camille or any of the others who cared enough to speak out are blasphemers and unbelievers. You referred to me as a blasphemer, so let’s not twist that fact. I did nothing to blaspheme God.

  37. bigham permalink
    May 19, 2010 7:51 pm

    David Hamilton does not recognize that the analogy was foolish.

    I recognize(d) that my arguments in defense of rape were foolish, and intended them to be so. You criticize the analogy and the satire for one simple reason, which has nothing to do with the analogy or the satire. It is only a bad analogy/bad satire if we deny the personhood of the unborn.

    Similarly, because we have been trained to deny the personhood of the unborn, we do not see how foolish “pro-choice” arguments are- if the unborn are persons (and they are!).

    If the unborn are persons (and they are!), then those arguments should offend you and cause you to be outraged when they are used to defend abortion just like they did when the very same arguments are used with rape.

    You criticized the analogy/satire because what I wrote was offensive, and because you were offended. Good! Be offended at the same offensive things people say about the unborn.

    -David Hamilton

Leave a Reply

