Skip to content

Nancy Pearcey: Rallying to restore God!

December 18, 2010

NOT long ago I was covering the Rally to Restore Sanity and/or Fear, a wildly popular event hosted by Jon Stewart and Steve Colbert that drew well over 200,000 people to the Washington Mall. The gathering was decidedly odd—two faux newscasters had organised a semi-faux rally. But what impressed me were the signs I saw people carrying. It was a sea of plucky disaffection: “This is a sign”; “One sign to rule them all”; “I want more tortillas when I order fajitas at a restaurant”; “I have a PhD in horribleness”; “I Like Turtles”; “Eat Some Sushi”; “My president is black and this sign is blue”; and “I already regret carrying this sign around all day.” What clever nonsense, I thought as I pushed my way through the crowds. I had never been to a postmodern rally before.

Read More Here

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

