Skip to content

Timothy Dalrymple: The Young Christian’s Guide to Sex at Seminary

November 16, 2011

Interesting read on a former Conservative Evangelical Princeton Grad from the heart of Liberal Theology…

My Outsider status became clear to me — if not for the first time, at least in a new way — when I sat with friends on the seminary field, stretching before a game of ultimate frisbee. It was still my first semester, and I was getting to know the people and the place. We were talking about the sins that were emphasized in the churches that brought us up. I said that pre- or extra-marital sex was the grave sin against which we, in my youth group and Sunday School classes, were most gravely and constantly warned. And, I said, I appreciated that, as it had helped me maintain my commitment to abstain from sex until marriage.

I might as well have said that I believe in eating toddlers with chipotle sauce and a side order of puppies. My friends’ and fellow seminarians’ expressions had gone, suddenly, from benign conversational interest to something that looked like rats and skunks had deposited themselves deep in their nostrils, where they were scratching and relieving themselves and spreading their odors. This, I saw, was the last thing my friends wanted to talk about. And such a “backwards” and “judgmental” attitude (as it would later be described to me) really had no place at an enlightened seminary.

Read More Here

One Comment leave one →
  1. Middle Ground View permalink
    November 16, 2011 6:33 am

    This is a very brave post. Well done.

Leave a Reply

