Skip to content

Kevin Deyoung: Does Calvinism Make People Jerks?

March 28, 2012

…the problem is owing to the jerks, not to the Calvinism. I’ve seen feminist jerks and social justice jerks, libertarian jerks and liberal jerks, hipster jerks and “you Calvinists are Taliban fundamentalists” jerks. The problem is not predestination. It’s pride.

Read More Here

My Commentary: I whole heartedly agree with this article.  I would also say that this pride carries with it a sense of insecurity to always be on the defensive when your Doctrine is questioned.  My question: Why is it that Calvinist’s must be on the defensive? Why not those who hold to a more Armenian point of view… why do they not have to defend their position?  I have only had two people do just that… I work with them.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 5, 2012 9:20 pm

    I have several calvinist friends and they all have some cockyness to them

Leave a Reply

